“I really like you a lot.”

When a guy says they really like you, they mean it. No having to dissect it. Males are simple, direct, and use as few words as possible to communicate with the opposite sex. Even in this case, when they are telling you they like you, there is no reading between the lines here.


I’m recently dating this guy that I was first talking to through online dating. We talked but never met around this same time last year. I was in a crappy place and told him I didn’t think it would be best to meet then. He said he still had my number and we started texting last month, a year later, and finally met up. After our third date, and they all were spaced out a week apart, he told me he really likes me. So sorry for sounding like a broken record like I do, but guys are simple. When they are there, I mean actually consistently visable, they are next to you…then they like you. When they say they like you, they like you. No hidden meanings, no extremities. Here’s the kicker though: I’m not sure I  like him or feel the same way. I feel really bad about it too. He’s a nice guy,  but I’m not feeling any physical or intellectual connection. Our first date was a cute meet up to get ice cream, we had a full lunch and a walk on the beach for our second date. And one mixed in Netflix and chill date, and a coffee date. The Netflix date barely lead to second base. I dig the slowness too. If you’re read any  piece of my blog, you know that for the past couple of years I have gotten nothing but the opposite. Guys are keen to the physical a little too fast with me. I’m tired of it really. 

But what do I do? It’s now about five weeks in and I don’t know how I feel about this dude. Do I break it off possibly too prematurely, string him along, or see where things go?  Stringing him along is definitely not my style, so it has to be one of the other two. He’s an almost boyfriend here and I’m a little petrified!


I just still haven’t met him yet?, 

SG

3 thoughts on ““I really like you a lot.”

  1. singleguynyc says:

    5 weeks in and you’re not feeling it is a good indication of your chemistry. Unless you’re standing in the way of you’re own happiness (external to him), its best to let him know you’re not sharing his sentiment. We’re all adults here; no need for remorse. Falling down is as common as the rain. I recently went through the same thing – was with a girl that didn’t feel the same way. I’d say consider the exact reasons as to why and if you arrive at the same conclusion of little chemistry, end it or turn it platonic. Just my two cents. Cheers! 🙂

  2. Am I Thirty? says:

    Ugh I have been in this situation before. It’s a crappy feeling when you really want to like someone but you’re simply not feeling it. I agree with the above commenters. You’re going to have to end it. If you are still not sure if you like him after 5 weeks, you probably never will.

Leave a Reply

